The Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) counting has started and the parties contesting this election are Congress, BJP, TDP, AIMIM and Telangana Rasthra Samithi (TRS). The counting was earlier scheduled for 8 AM in the morning but it was delayed to 3 PM. Reportedly, 33,60,543 voters out of 74,23,980 cast their votes, including one voter who had Salman Khan’s id card and name. The election will test the TRS’s strength in Hyderabad and has been in the news for their victory in the Warangal Lok Sabha elections <!– /11440465/Dna_Article_Middle_300x250_BTF –>(Watch: Akbaruddin Owasi says with Narendra Modi he can wipe out Congress from the country)The counting of votes began at 3:30 PM in 24 centres and security has been tightened across the city. The 1st round of counting has almost been completed at most centres and results will be declared after Puranapul. Currently TRS lead in Madhapur, with 973 and Miyapoor 458 votes. The Puranapul re-polling ended at 4:30 PM and 43% votes were registered. (Read: When Salman Khan’s named turned up on a voter ID card)According to early media reports, the TRS making big gains winning 102 seats, whereas NDA ally TDP is facing a massive set-back while Congress is virtually wiped out compared to 52 in 209. Among the biggest upsets was Congress former mayor Kartheeka Reddy getting defeated by TRS in Tarkana, Kondapur TRS candidate Hameed Patel winning, Congress’ mayor candidate Vikram Goud losing and former Hyderabad Mayor Banda Karthika Reddy of Cong party lost the GHMC election at ward. Parties Leading 2009 position 2016 Position Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) 36 0 69 Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 3 45 1 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 1 5 2 All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) 25 43 10 Congress (INC) 2 52 1 Others 0 5 0


GHMC Election Results: TRS set to sweep, Congress and TDP suffer heavy loss in Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation elections