Puducherry: A total of 236 candidates in the Union territory have so far filed their nominations for the May 16 assembly polls, with 132 filing their papers on Thursday itself.

Secretary of AIADMK’S Puducherry State unit and party’s Legislature wing leader P Purushothaman and all remaining four legislators of the party were among 132 persons, including independents, who filed their nominations on Thursday.

V M C Sivakumar, an Independent from Neravy T R Pattinam in Karaikal who recently joined AIADMK, filed his papers seeking re-election as the party nominee from the constituency.


AIADMK Deputy Legislature party leader A Anbalagan and the party’s other legislators L Periyasamy, A Baskar and Om Sakthi Segar filed their papers seeking re-election from Uppalam, Nettapakkam (reserved), Modeliarpet and Nellithope segments respectively.

AIADMK is going it alone in the polls in the union territory.

Ruling AINRC nominees will file their papers on Friday.

Chief Minister N Rangasamy had released the first list of candidates for 21 segments on Wednesday. The second list for the other nine seats might be released later on Thursday, party sources said.

See the original article here:

Puducherry polls: 236 file nominations so far for 16 May assembly election