The Sahitya Akademi rewards authors annually for their literary contribution with outstanding books in all the major Indian languages.


Raghu Karnad, his winning book Farthest Field.

Inspite of the controversy surrounding the Akademi during the intolerance row and #awardwapsi, it is still considered one of the most prestigious literary awards in India.

Last years the winners included Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar for her English novel The Mysterious Ailment of Rupi Bhaskey, and Indira Dangi for her Hindi novel Haveli Sanatanpur, among other regional writers.

The Sahitya Akademi tweeted its list of winners for 2016 on Thursday:

This year’s winner’s include Raghu Karnad for Farthest Field: An Indian Story of the Second World War and Nilotpal Mrinal for Dark Horse — Ek Anakahi Dastan.

Source article:  

Raghu Karnad, Nilotpal Mrinal: Here are the winners of Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar